C/o Barbados Olympic Association, Wildey, St Michael, BB15094


Barbados Equestrian Association

Welcome to
Barbados Equestrian Association

About Us

The Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) abides by their motto:-
“We exist to build encourage, and advance the continuing development and progress of equestrian sports in Barbados”
There are approximately 110 active members consisting of competitive riders of all ages, family members, non-competitive members and honorary members who support and keep up to date with the association.

The BEA is governed by and executive committee comprised of members of the association who are nominated and voted into their specific positions by the members.  The positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer all carry a term of two years while the positions of Jumping Chairperson, Dressage Chairperson, Public Relations Officer, Riders Representative and Show Coordinators serve for a term of one year.

Mrs Monique Archer is the Association’s President having been elected in November 2013 to, Mrs Alison Elliot is the Vice-President.  Mrs Angelique Edwards, fills the hard working role of Secretary and Mrs Natasha Haloute is the much valued Treasurer yet again.  These officers are now starting their 2 year term.  Mrs. Di Clarke is the Barbados National Coach (Jumping). 

The Barbados Equestrian Association was formed in the 1970’s and was governed by its first President, Sir Denys William.  Prior to this, the Barbados Show Jumping Federation (BSF) was formed in the 1960’s and along with the B’dos Polo Club and the B’dos Turf Club were the clubs representing the horse would in Barbados.  After the demise of the BSF, the BEA was formed and came to the forefront of equestrian sports in Barbados.  

In 1992 Dressage was officially amalgamated into the Association under the guidance of the first ever Dressage Chairperson, Mrs Elisabeth Roachford.  

in 1994 the BEA became affliated with the Federation Equestre International (FEI),  the international governing body for equestrian sport and continues to take part inboth their FEI World Dressage Challenge and FEI World Jumping Challenge annually since 1995.  

In 1995 Barbados was represented abroad for the first time ever in equestrian sports as they sent a rider to the Pam American Games to compete in Show Jumping.  

The BEA is a member of the Caribbean Equestrian Association (CEA) which was formed in 1998.  In 2002 the Barbados flag was raised in Hagen, Germany for the first time as we won individual solver in the FEI World Dressage Challenge Finals.  

In 2003 Barbados was represented at the Pan American Games in Santo Domingo where the Bajan Dressage team finished 8th out of 19 countries.  

In 2006 A Dressage team represented Barbados at the Central American and Caribbean Games ( the CACs) in Colombia.

In 2010 Barbados was represented at the CAC games in Puerto Rico in Dressage.

In 2014 - Barbados was represented at the CAC Games in Xalapa, Mexico

In 2015 - Barbados was represented at the Pan American Games in Caledon, Canada

In 2018 - Saw Barbados being represented at the CAC Games in Barranquilla, Colombia in Dressage by Roberta Foster, ShowJumping by Alexa Rodriguez and for the first time in Eventing with the team of Laura Smith, Monique Archer & Zoe Archer. In Dressage, Roberta Foster finished 8th over all in the Freestyle. The Eventing Team of Laura Smith, Monique Archer & Zoe Archer won the bronze medal.



President : Mrs. Monique Archer - monique@archershall.com
Vice-President: Mrs. Alison Elliot - alison@ellcorentals.com
Secretary : Mrs. Angelique Edwards - beasecretary@hotmail.com
Treasurer : Mrs. Natasha Haloute - beatreasurer@gmail.com  
Dressage Chairperson : Mrs. Roberta Foster - herbiesmum@hotmail.com
 Jumping Chairperson : Mrs. Di Clarke - dineilbigc@gmail.com
Show Coordinator Jumping: Mrs. Sara Jones - sarajones@gmail.com

Show Coordinator Dressage: Mr. Zak Stuart - zakstuart@gmail.com
Public Relations Officer #1 : Dr. Laura Smith - les@caribsurf.com
Public Relations Officer # 2: Mrs. Adriana Watson - adriana.e.king@gmail.com
Riders Representative: Ms. Paige Tryhane - ptryhane@hotmail.com

Whitehall Equestrian Center

Big C Stables

Congo Road Equestrian Centre

Sandy Turf Stables

Yorkshire Stables